The NSW Murray Wetlands Working Group Inc. (NSW MWWG) was formed in 1992, upon recognition by NSW Government of the continuing loss and degradation of wetlands in the catchment of the River Murray in NSW. The mission of the Group was to rehabilitate degraded wetlands and improve the management of wetlands throughout the Murray and Lower Murray Darling catchments in NSW, by linking community involvement with best scientific understanding. Members were drawn from community, industry, Local Government, catchment management committees, government agencies, the former Murray-Darling Basin Commission and The Murray-Darling Freshwater Research Centre. From 2000 to 2009, the group managed two Adaptive Environmental Water licenses to improve wetlands in the Murray Valley. Highly successful, the NSW MWWG received four Rivercare 2000 awards, was a finalist for the 2002 Thiess National Riverprize and was the winner of the 2007 Thiess National Riverprize. In 2009, Murray Darling Wetlands Ltd. (later re-named as Murray Darling Wetlands Working Group Ltd.) was established to replace the NSW MWWG and commenced operation in May 2010. It was formed as a not-for-profit Company as a result of the Group wishing to engage with the corporate sector, as well as other NGOs working in the water sector. It is registered as an Australian Public Company limited by guarantee, established under the Corporations Act 2001 (Commonwealth). (Sourced from Facebook page 29/08/2021)


Founding Year:



Still active

Type of Group:


Primary Focus:


Geographic Sphere:


Primary Location:


Albury, NSW